Home » General » “I have seen untouchability being put into practice” – Late S R Shankaran, IAS

“I have seen untouchability being put into practice” – Late S R Shankaran, IAS

Start here


“I have seen untouchability being put into practice, despite constitutional and legal commandments to the contrary. I can even now recall the image of a Dalit women sitting on the banks of a water tank with a pot in her hand, waiting for someone to ‘pour’ water from the tank into her pot, since, being an untouchable, she was forbidden from entering the tank and collecting the water herself. I have been appalled at the manner in which derogatory suffixes are attached to the names of people from untouchable community to depict their lowly status in the caste hierarchy. I have personally seen the exploitation of bonded labourers, many of whom bonded for generations for repayment of partly sums taken as a loan from landlords. I have seen fear writ large on the face of Dalits while in the presence of big landlords, known as Doras in the Telangana area and have felt intensity of social oppression donated by the expression ‘ I am your slave’ I touch your feet’ which was the compulsory conventional salutation with which untouchables were called upon to address people belonging to the so-called upper castes”- Late S R Shankaran, IAS, forward to ‘My Father Balaiah’, written by YB Sathyanarayana, HarperCollins, 2011,p. XII

Leave a Reply

